Khoya Khoya Chand

‘Kyun khoye khoye chaand ki firaaq mein talaash mein udaas hai dil’
Why do I keep pursuing the love which is not in sight?

‘Kyun apane aap se khafa khafa jara jaraasa naaraaj hai dil’
Why am I upset with myself?

‘Yeh manjilein bhi khudhi tay kare, yeh faasalein bhi khudhi tay kare’
Why do I first pursue somebody, then I withdraw myself?

‘Kyu toh rasto pe phir seham seham sanbhal sanbhal ke chalta hai ye dil’
Why do I remain wary of my pursuits?

‘Jindagi sawaalon ke jawaab dhudnein chali
Jawaab mein sawaalon ki ik lambi si ladi mili’
I wanted to unravel the mystery of questions
Instead I got entangled in the web of questions.

‘Sawaal hi sawaal hain sujhti nahi gali
Ke aaj haath thaamlo ik haath ki kami kali’
In my pursuits, these questions offer resistance
I wonder if a companion would make a difference

‘Dil ko samajhaana keh do kya aasaan hai’
But is it easy to make peace with the dreams?

‘Yeh khush nahi jo mila, bas maangata hi hai chala’
Why am I not satisfied with I have got?
Don’t I know-
The more we have, the less we have.

‘Jaanata hai har lagi ka dard hi hai bas ik sila
Jab kabhi yeh dil laga dard hi hamein mila’
I realise that passion and pain are the two sides of the same coin.

‘Kyun naye naye se dard ki firaaq mein talaash mein udaas hai dil’
Then why do I keep pursuing passions?

‘Kyun khoye khoye chaand ki firaaq mein talaash mein udaas hai dil’
Why do I keep pursuing the love which is not in sight?

2 thoughts on “Khoya Khoya Chand

  1. ramitbajaj01 Post author

    Hi Harsh, in the above post, I’ve provided a figurative translation of the entire song. Let me know if you want any specific clarifications.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

